top of page

Breakfast


I'm kind of boring. I like having the same thing for breakfast, almost, every day. I love granola mixed with yogurt and some fruit. However, most commercial granola has an awful lot of sugar and sweeteners, so I make my own. I have this simple recipe, to make simple granola.

Maple Granola

Makes: About 12 cups

Time: 1 hour, largely unattended

6 Cups whole rolled oats, like Quaker, I usually buy mine in bulk

2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

1 teaspoon salt

1 cup lite maple syrup (the lite syrup is half the calories of regular)

¾ cup extra-virgin olive oil or peanut oil

1 cup of whatever kind of nuts that you like (optional) (I like nuts, just not in my food, so I don't use any)

1 cup raisins (optional)

1. Heat the oven to 350°. Put the oats, cinnamon, nuts if desired and salt in a large bowl and stir to combine. Drizzle with the maple syrup and oil and stir until they’re evenly incorporated. Transfer the mixture to a 13- by 18-inch rimmed baking sheet and spread into a relatively even layer.

2. Bake, stirring every 12-14 minutes or so, until the granola has begun to turn crisp and brown, about 36-40 minutes. Ovens are different, so it will depend on your oven. (It will continue to crisp up as it cools.) Let cool for at least 15 minutes, and then stir in the raisins.

Store unused granola in an airtight container at room temperature for up to a month.

That's it! Pretty simple and it tastes good too. I usually combine it with non-fat yogurt.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page